The Divine Swine

Well,  the photo says it all.

Be it crispy crackling around an extremely juicy Porchetta roast or the enticing unctuous fat cushioning a moist rib chop, I love everything about this sensational meat.

If you asked me what my most cherished pork dish was, I would have a myriad of questions that would need answering before I could respond. What meal or time of day? What course? What are the accompaniments? Am I cooking it? How much time do I have to prepare it? Grilled, roasted, pan-fried, baked or stewed? Who am I dining with? A cold dish or a hot one? Spicy or Sweet & Sour?   As you can see, it’s complicated.

I have had the very good fortune of feasting on world-renowned Jamón Ibérico de Bellota in Madrid, perfect Porchetta in Italy, superb ‘Mbuzi Ulaya Choma’ in Mombasa and phenomenal Alpine Pork Chops in Switzerland. What I can assure you is that there are few experiences better than drawing in the heavenly aromas wafting through the air as a whole hog slowly roasts over an open fire.

Hog Roast

These little piggies were my lunch at a market in my local town a while back. I’ll let you in on a greedy little secret; I ate this 3 days in a row! The market was only in town for 3 days, what else did you expect me to do ?! The pork was incredibly juicy, lightly seasoned, and served with crispy crackling and a fresh cabbage salad. As always, I had my own chili relish with me and it went perfectly well with the dish. Nirvana…

I can’t wait until the next time they’re in town!

2 thoughts on “The Divine Swine

  1. Thanks for stopping by Cheeks.

    I write from the heart and I’m so happy you approve. You are my idol after all.

    If people would see a photo of me they would never imagine that I’m a greedy little pig whose dreams are dictated by food and drink!

    Sip and Spice = My Life

    Like

Leave a Reply

